Happily Reunited! Absence Makes the Head Grow Stoopider!


I’m back on my Biphentin!!! This probably doesn’t thrill you as much as it does me.  Nonetheless, it really is important for my head and my ADD.  What is Biphentin? Well, since I mentioned ADD, it’s a med for AD(H)D.  However, there is more to this story.

Pharmacologically, it is exactly the same as Concerta.  Except for some little things like method of delivery and such, but major, mega, hugest point? They are both extended release Methylphenidate.  Yep, they’re the same damn pill.

More to the saga story.  In which direction should I pursue all of this? Alright.  Chronological is pretty much the best way, yes?

Initially, I was put on Concerta.  It worked well.  After I started, I felt like the entire world was smiling down upon me, and I had quite the bounce in my step! No wonder people find stimulants a good party drug! I have ADD though, and Concerta is an extended release dose.

I’ve forever wondered this.  Would an extended release of Methylphenidate work as well as a party drug, as opposed to Ritalin which is an immediate release of the same? ER might work better for all that student, staying up all night, stuff.  Feel free to let me know, any non-AD(H)D’ers. *laughing*

So, I ended up on 36mg of Concerta.  However, I felt like I just wasn’t getting enough out of it.  Well, this is how I ended up on Biphentin.  Concerta’s titration schedule made no sense.  Or at least it didn’t then.  The 27mg dose wasn’t available when I needed a “boost.”

Concerta started at 18mg increasing by 9mg until it reached 36mg.  Then, the nice and even 9mgs stopped.  From 36mg, it doubled to 54mgs! The pills could not be split.  So, what to do?

54mg was a total bust elsewhere.  I’m tiny.  Despite the fact that I had no side effects, some drugs need to be prescribed appropriately due to your present state, and other certain things–not just underlying, pre-existing conditions.  A big issue for stimulants is losing weight.  Even though I hadn’t lost weight, Merlin #2 said I was too small.  I did agree, somewhat.  Not so much for my body, but for my brain.  54mgs might have made it blow up.

His solution? Biphentin! Why? Proper titration schedule! 10mgs all the way up to 80mgs! PERFECT! So, I skipped up to 40mg of that, and got an extra 4mg.  Could that have really made a difference? Why not? The lower Concerta doses were 9mg.  So I got roughly half?

When I got laid off, I had to say goodbye to my Biphentin.  Back to Concerta.  Total Bummer.  I was on Government Assistance, and apparently they wouldn’t cover Biphentin.  ARGH!!! But now? They’ve finally gotten their heads out of their asses, and it’s in the Formulary!

I took my first pill today! I’m not sure if I feel the entire world is smiling down upon me, and I have a bounce in my step (actually, I think I do.)  Although, I am a bit giddy.  A bit? It won’t last, but how often can a med titration make you feel good, as opposed to help me I’m going to die!

For me, it’s only with my stims! Go Biphentin! Party On! Where are those non-AD(H)D’ers taking them now! Let’s get going and have some fun!!!*

*NOTE: PA does not, in any way, advocate the use of prescription drugs by anyone, other than the person who has been prescribed said drug.  Right now, she just really wants to have some fun, because she IS feelin’ goooood…  Who cares if it isn’t “real.”  WHOO HOO!!!




    Leave a Reply

    Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,709 other followers