Sign, Sign Everywhere A Sign…


I was originally going to title “The Blank Screen Of Death.” It’s kind of like “The Blue Screen Of Death” where your PC (not a Mac!) freezes up and you get who knows what kind of error…could be anything. I’m still blogging but now I’m sitting here with a blank screen and if I was talking to anyone I’m sure I’d be mumbling gibberish. Now I’m sure I’ve just got gibberish in my brain. Oh wait, same thing? You see? Ah, tea…I think it’s finally helping me after all.

So now that the seed has been planted in my head, am I really dreading blogging now? I received a couple of emails (but no responses to my horribly depressing post of last night–no point in linking to it.) One person said to take a break (but you know yourself) another person said NO! Don’t stop! You’re so good!

Shall I flip a coin? I’ve done that to actually make decisions in my life, you know. I swear, I’m like a dog on a bone when it comes to blogging (among other things?)

There are some funny signs in my neighbourhood. I remember another blogger telling me to, “Look for the signs!” Well, I don’t think these hardly qualify but I have found them amusing, nonetheless.

I was walking down my street and I found an advertisement for a local business stapled to a telephone poll. It stated: “Rubbish Removal” and a telephone number. I was tempted to call it to see if they could do something with my brain.

There is a local place nearby called “Suzuki Shiatsu.” Now this one really gets me going. I can not imagine having shiatsu done by either a motorcycle or a car. Granted, I don’t know who out there, if any of you, have had a shiatsu treatment. You do need to like pain just a little bit. You get bent and twisted around somewhat and well, if you’re not that flexible (or sometimes even if you are) it can induce some ouchiness.

I remember meeting a woman who did shiatsu. PA kind of liked her but she was very strange. And I don’t think in a unique, kind of flaky, fun way. More in a dangerous way. Nonetheless, she was participating in this sort of exhibition or health fair and needed someone as an “example” or someone to work on to show any passers by what on earth shiatsu was (if they didn’t already know.) If they wanted a treatment, they could pay some money and she’d do it. So she asked me to be her little example. I was like, awesome! As much shiatsu as she could give me!

I also went to the man who gave her shiatsu. He was really good! But something kind of strange happened. My hip wouldn’t rotate in just the right way. He tried a couple of times but it kept getting stuck. The man said he could “fix” it but he would need to perform acpuncture. Would I be willing to try it? Sure, why not?

So out came his little needles and I can’t remember how many he stuck into my hip. He left them there for a very brief period and voila! Hip rotated just like that! Very cool.

What else is strange that I know of? Well, this isn’t really in my neighbourhood but it’s on the way to most of my travels wherever I am going. There’s this street called “Strange Street.” I want to live there so bad! It’s almost this tiny little alley that had a dead end. Oh, even better! I’m just kidding… But there are no houses on it. It’s that tiny. I wonder what the real estate values are there. Surely I could erect a little shack of sorts?

This one is goofy. There is a restaurant near me affectionately named “The Goof.” It’s been called that for years! They have a neon sign that if you look at it one way it reads vertically “GOOD” and horizontally “FOOD.” The bottom letters line up so that the two “Ds” spell out the latter of each. But from the other way, they have have reversed the “FOOD” so if you spell it out, it reads “GOOF” when they connect. There have been many a time when the sign has burnt out and all that has shown is “GOOF.” Everyone finds it terribly funny here. Maybe you do not?

I think that’s all I can come up with right now…oh, wait…one more.

A fish and chips shop that is named “Reliable Fish and Chips.” Wow, I certainly hope so! Food poisoning is not pleasant.


  1. 2 days sober, good for you!

    i would have posted a comment below, but you’re so prolific with the posts i usually miss a few.

    (((pa)))

    Like

  2. Thanks, anonymous mom…I appreciate your support as always. This will be day number three…

    Hugs back,
    PA

    Like

  3. Yeah Pa…just remember we can’t all sit around being mental and blogging away…we comment when we can ;)

    I ‘acquired’ the new interpol album last night so away to listen to it I am…

    Chin up old bean, worse things happen at sea.
    A lovely lady sent me to this site http://www.foundmagazine.com/ which absolutely rocks, in case you haven’t seen it. A bit like postsecret.com

    Now you have something to do…wander around picking up tat and posting it to found magazine…should keep you busy.

    Like

  4. Oh, for sure darkentries! I was just poking at myself for being so mental last night! Granted nothing wrong with it, I suppose. I didn’t have to post about it but what the hell. Again, you never do know who is reading and might be able to identify with a good old weepy, sob fest.

    As far as responses, I know that other people actually have lives as opposed to myself ;) People are busy doing other things and as anonymous mom said above I do post so damn much. A lot of people can’t keep up with me

    Enjoy the album. Yes, working on chin and lifting it up off the floor *wry grin*

    Thanks for the links. I’ll check them out. Just going through work email now which bloody boring as all hell so it sounds like a good diversion…think I’m actually going to try and do some reading today to try and gain some insight into all the bullshit that’s floating around in my bean as well.

    Like

  5. I had to come back and make another entry darkentries, did you mean postsecret on blogger (I couldn’t find a .com) with all the postcards that is basically the “art project” where people write stuff on postcards (their secrets, thoughts, etc…) and mail them in? Holy crap! It’s something else. I’m so tempted to run around like mad and grab a whole whack of them and write deranged crap (like my blog ramblings?) and send them in! Oh what fun!

    And it might keep me away from posting so much…

    I can’t decide which site I like better…

    “Found” makes me want to write some of my dreadful poetry and pass it along as something I “found.” Probably the only way I’ll ever get published outside of my own blog…even though it wouldn’t be under my own name haha.

    Like

  6. sodajerk

    when i said “take a wee break”i meant only a coupla days.
    just time to recharge the batteries,as it were.
    i hope you did not take it as stop bloggin.

    hell no,keep on postin the good stuff PA.

    Like

  7. yes, thats it.

    You get some really sad stuff on there sometimes though…I just love peeking into peoples lives…If I could become invisible I wouldn’t do anything exciting, I’d just wander around watching people live…the private joys and tragedies that you never really see. I would of course leave the room if there was any rumpypumpy.
    Its the law.

    Like

  8. Oh no, sodajerk. I understood you loud and clear. I actually had this idea percolating around for a little bit so I thought I’d pull it out today as it was probably sorely needed? Things were getting too glum.

    darkentries, oh you’re such a little voyeur like me! But you’re right, there were some rather depressing items on the blog. No doubt that’s what I’d submit? I might try to counter that with some humour, though?

    Yes, I kind of like to people watch as well but sometimes it really is hard to get a serious look into peoples’ lives. I mean, really deep? Well, maybe on blogs haha. Welcome to my (PA’s) nightmare.

    So you’d leave the room for “rumpy-pumpy?” I actually had to check with my “resource” for that one…actually it’s a pretty good online site and helps whenever one of my UK readers flings a new idiom at me. PA’s bad. She’s been around to witness some rumpy-pumpy but after a while got bored as she wasn’t involved.

    You know, bells are going off. I think we had an “off-blog” conversation about how dreadfully boring it would be to watch other people have sex. Well I had forgotten about this little incident. Yes, it was. A long night of partying back in those days so PA went back downstairs (this was the next day in the afternoon) and fixed herself another drink. This wasn’t at her place by the way–a friend’s.

    But there’s no law against watching rumpy-pumpy! Only in your own mind!

    My how this comment section has strayed completely off topic from the post. Ah, it’s all good though.

    Like




Leave a comment