Did I Fail to Mention Paul Weller is a Genius?


Well, I certainly think so anyway. Yes, I’m going to finally do another “theme” on MP3 of the Moment that I have been wanting to do for a while. So, we have a mix of The Jam and The Style Council, here. And yes, they are all singles that were put out by both “groups” or projects that he created or was involved in.

Really, though…he did drive them both? The lyrics, the music?

There are four and since they are singles, some of you out there will probably know them all. You may or may not like them…well, too bad! PA is DJ! Just kidding. Well, I do like to play what I like to play but as they say: “Vote With Your Mouse!”

Or, if you haven’t heard these in a while, they might evoke some memories? They are some “older” songs.

Or…perhaps you’ve never heard them at all? Well, if such is the case, I will tell you that Mr. Weller sings with quite a strong English accent. Many bands/vocalists…well, you’d never know where they hail from but Paul Weller? At times, his accent is so strong you’ll be listening and be…what on earth did he just say? It’s not garbled, just a strong accent that someone who isn’t from the UK may not be used to…

So, I’m streaming four! Yep, I’m really going “for” it! I had to pick and choose some of my favourites? And yet, even though they are popular singles…they are just so good! Plus, if there are readers out there that may have not heard them–a good introduction? So, a nice middle of the road kind of deal.

And my personal commentary of course *laughing*

So here are my choices:

“That’s Entertainment” by The Jam

“The Bitterest Pill (I Ever Had To Swallow)” by The Jam

“Life At A Top People’s Health Farm” by The Style Council

“Shout To The Top!” by The Style Council

So there they are because as always, the posts stay; the songs don’t.

  1. katyboo1

    Hiya,
    A mate of mine is the bass player in Weller’s new ensemble and I got free tickets to go and see him live a few months ago. Never been a huge fan, but he was awesome live. Did mostly solo stuff and new things, most of which are much different to his older stuff and even his other solo stuff, but he did do a fantastic live version of Eton Rifles with his son on stage playing guitar in his first ever gig!

    Like

  2. Hi katyboo1, nice to you meet you and welcome to my blog. That is seriously cool! Great to have friends in high places?

    I never kept up with Weller’s solo stuff either for some reason. A bit similar with some other artists that have left their bands also and moved on. I have to agree with you though–the styles can change! One that currently comes to mind is David Sylvian of Japan.

    Now, Eton Rifles with his son’s first ever live gig! Excellent…oh, that’s wicked.

    Take care,
    PA

    Like

  3. katyboo1

    Hi PA
    Thanks for the welcome. Yup! I never knew he was famous until recently, then when I met up with him he told me about a whole raft of other people who we both know who are also rather spangly in the firmament. It made me pull my feathers out for a bit, thinking all I did was have three bonkers children and grow some rather fine courgettes. Still, I think I will probably be a late bloomer :)
    That’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it.
    Kx

    Like

  4. Hi again katyboo1. You are most welcome for the welcome!

    Oh, this comment made me laugh! Well…I like courgettes (if anyone reading this does not know…British version of zucchini?)

    Do you grow any other veggies? PA likes her veggies! *laughing*

    Also, Arkay ironically enough just tossed me a link to your blog. Well, he tossed it to everyone I suppose as it’s in my comment section. *rolls eyes* I’m going to head over and read it when the three (no…WAY more than three!) bonkers children in my head stop screaming at me!

    PA (thanks for the kiss too!)

    Like




Leave a Reply

