I Don’t Care Land. Just Random Ramblings


I’m taking a break today.  I am doing as little or nothing as possible.

I do not care if it was a seizure last night; I don’t think it was.  Madame Seizurella© and Madame Depressiva© just needs a break.  It may have “simply” been a very serious pulled muscle as I was lugging around a laptop bag half the day and all the night that probably weighs/ed more than I do.  However, I am still limping around and in retrospect, it feels like I was kicked by a horse.  I was actually lying on the floor unable to move almost screaming at one point.

Now, that is fucked.  I have always said that I have an extremely high tolerance for pain.  Is that waning along with so many other things these days? I’ve taken some Ibuprophen, so perhaps a pulled muscle indeed. I am walking a bit better.  Perhaps I should invest in one of those laptop cases with wheels that look like a little suitcase? They’re a pain to drag around though with me taking public transit and even just–well, dragging them around altogether!

The post was also a bit of a drive by last night.  J. and I kind of whooped it up and stayed out rather late.  However, we went to this really cool Korean restaurant where you order your things raw and they have this cooking, sort of BBQ in the middle of the table.  You cook it all up and when done, voila! Eat away! You can also leisurely take your time, sit and talk and when ready, move on to course number two, three, whatever.  Although, the strips of meat were a little large at points, using my chopsticks became unbearable toward the end and I finally admitted defeat and began to use my utensils.  I rather prefer chopsticks when eating any Asian type fare.

When in Rome? Well, they don’t use chopsticks in Italy.  Or at least they didn’t when I was there.

I have a couple of comments to respond to so I suppose I should do that.  I feel guilty when I don’t respond to people in a timely fashion on my blog.  They are so kind to read it and leave comments, it is only proper to me that I respond as quickly as I can.  Oh, and I need to send off an email to someone now that I think of it.  Maybe I am actually doing some things.  It is evening time now so maybe I am becoming more alive?

I am still also being completely redonculous by trying to download yet another version of CS3 that I am quite sure will not work like the others past.  I have one last resource that I can think of that I will get in touch with next week.  Tomorrow? Christ, I even called my ex-boss pleading for help! Nope.  No luck there.  No one is using it!

Damn, I just spilled my tea like my soup all over last night.  It would appear that I am rather spastic these days? *PA nods*  Thank $DEITY it wasn’t all over baby MacBook and just the floor.  OMG.  I am not working and need my computer.  Buying baby Macbook v.3 for the same reason baby MacBook v.1 was destroyed? I can’t even think about that.

I am obviously not meant to care about much today or so it would seem if spilling things all over the place were to be any sorts of “omens.” I’d better not care too much or I’ll start convincing myself that things are exactly that: “Omens” telling me that things are just not meant to be in my world and I’m close enough to thinking that already.

*sigh*

I guess I’d better go make another cuppa and “try again.”  Comments taken care of too.  Still downloading and if it doesn’t fall apart (pretty much like me these days), some form of success? I doubt it though.  How many times have I tried this???

A few minutes more and we’ll know.  Well…it takes time to “unpack,” install and all of that, right? But it should be arriving for me to grow more and more frustrated by my repeated attempts any moment now.

*pads off to make tea*

Hey, wait a minute.  I started writing this post a fair while ago but…I got some version of fucking something! It worked! Premiere Pro? I did everything of course all to protocol.  Crap, I shouldn’t even be writing about this as the A-Dopey Police may be on my ass (I was expecting a huge, flashing, red light when I restarted) but no.  There was also a recommendation to download this thing-a-ma-jiggy that acts as some sort of Firewall but of course you are never (or shouldn’t be!) connected to the Internet when you do this! Jesus…hello any s/w police.  And never register (i.e. click on exactly that) and NEVER click on an opportunity to upgrade!

OMG…come and get me! I have now given basic instructions on how to be a very, bad, little person.  Oh, hell! So many people do it, it’s insane! And it will never stop! How long has CS4 been out now? When I was poking about earlier, they’ve already got some of that on the menu! Lord, almighty! So if you want that anyone, just go “online shopping!”

However, what I’ve got is not like what Mac Guru gave to me–although, I couldn’t actually look at it…couldn’t get the “Golden Key.”  But when I did open a “New File,” holy shit, what on earth am I looking at?! Granted, I’ve never used this crap before so why am I surprised.  Thank goodness they seem to have quite a decent “Help Section.”  Oh, well.  I’m sure it will be fun to eventually figure out what I am doing but like I really have time to do that? Good grief.

And you know? I am also unbelievably stupid.  After all the out of control panic of me at least getting Dreamweaver for my course, I didn’t even realise that I already had it on my hard drive! Can you believe?

I am so fucking stupid. *PA slaps forehead*

And to further my stupidity, I’ve already got some kind of bizarre ideas floating around in my daft head about what sort of page or website (oh yeah, like I could go beyond a single page?) for my course.  Even though I can hardly write any code???

It’s a little early here but I just feel like going to bed.  I probably won’t though.  And I’ll probably call my “last resort buddy” about the s/w just in case that whatever the hell I got totally cacks or something.

  1. Hello.
    Regarding laptop bag woes I’d suggest picking up a Timbuk2 bag, either the laptop messenger, the blogger (which is portrait orientated messenger) or the best for your back the Hacker day pack.

    It has been too long so I am not fully up to speed. Sounds like you are doing a web design course. You should check out Coda which gets good write-ups – it is a one window web-dev program. http://www.panic.com/coda/

    I’ll try to stop being a stranger. S x

    Like

  2. I love those BBQ places. They’re so much fun. And here in Korea, all you get are chopsticks (although they probably have a stash of forks for the stupid foreigners, LOL). When I first got to Korea, my then boss took me out for dinner at one of the BBQ restaurants. I learned how to use chopsticks really freaking fast.

    Like

  3. Hi exactscience, not to worry about having been away for a bit. ‘Tis alright. I’ll keep those in mind for bags. I need a lot of room though…peripherals, study aids…just my own “junk?” *laughing*

    Thanks for the coda link. Hell, it’s free right so maybe I should download it and use everything at my disposal–even though I know nothing!

    Good lord.

    Ah, hell. I’ll download it. Free software (good and free), is always a bonus!

    Take care,
    PA
    x

    Hi katm

    Yes, the are neat, aren’t they? And indeed, in Korea, I suspect chopsticks would be the norm? *laughing* That is funny that you had to learn to use them “really freaking fast.” We always used them when I was a kid so I’m fairly used to them and adept. I guess? Although maybe a bit more klutzy now due to meds. *shrugs*

    Just make sure you keep the “sticky rice” pretty “sticky” and you’ll do fine. Oh, and also be prudent if you’re dipping things into any tiny bowls of sauce and what not (as above, said rice.) Then it all falls apart and you’re screwed.

    Like




Leave a Reply

