You Know You’re Sick When…


…you can not even handle chicken soup? However, please bear with me until the end of this post because I got an even more wonderful “surprise” today!

This is one mean son of a bitch I’ve got! I was so nauseous, in pain, so much that it woke me up at 0630hrs yesterday and there was no way I could go back to sleep.  Now, you would think I would be used to this with all of the gastro problems I have had over the years where no one could really figure out what was wrong but I know this is a virus (fever etc…)

So, fiddle with the computer until exhaustion hit, go back to bed and just lie there and feel like dying, take another Nexium/Esomeprazole to maybe take the pain away–and only liquids! Just the thought of food made me feel even worse!

I finally got up about seven hours later (there was no way I could sleep!) and stared at my DVDs for eternity.  I turned the television on and I just couldn’t resist! Oh, the irony! “Outbreak” was on! Quite loosely based on the book, “The Hot Zone” which was about Ebola.  Well, at least I didn’t have a Haemorrhagic Fever! I just felt like I did.

So, I was feeling maybe a bit better and decided to try some chicken soup.  It’s liquid.  Oh, my fucking god! As soon as I finished it–and I’m not kidding here–I was immediately in severe pain AGAIN!!! It was only chicken soup!!!

Now, I did have two of those weird, chewy, ginger, Gravol thingies left.  I saved them for bedtime.  Makes sense? I needed sleep? Pop those, a Valium/Diazepam, everything else…pray for sleep.  Thankfully, I got some.

Which brings us to today.  A couple of small victories? I managed to shower from crazy, fever-sleep.  I had enough energy to walk to the corner store to buy some Ibuprophen, more gingerale, more of those wacky, ginger, Gravol things (at least in pill form…)  Gravol, what are you doing to me??? I like you to space me out, knock me out! These things don’t! The Valium doesn’t knock me out!

Let’s kill one of those victories (and then both.)  I got my period today.  Oh, fuck me! Well, thank $DEITY for the Ibuprophen as the Acetaminophen does shit in that department! But like I need that on top of everything else right now! However, that is not the wonderful surprise I was referring to above.

I was drinking my tea and then guess what happened? Oh, I can be pretty sure you can see this coming…

BARF!

Now, nobody messes with PA and her tea! Everyone knows that around here! Plus, I have to be seriously, fucking ill to actually throw up!!! What is going on here???

So, at this point, I am looking for volunteers with any sharp objects who will sever all parts of me from my abdomen to my pelvis.  Any takers?

  1. Only if you’ll sever my head from my body. Day 3 of shitty migraine hell. Zomig isn’t doing shit. Compazine isn’t touching the nausea. What in the hell am I gonna do tomorrow when I have to go to work?

    Like

  2. Hi katm, I was going to say we can have a great, big Organ Yard Sale! “Only Slightly Used???”

    However, I have to agree with head severing, as well. I have often wanted that too.

    I’m sorry you’re in migraine hell. I took Zomig before and it didn’t work so fantastically for me either. Any chance of getting switched to another triptan (or have you basically tried them all already?)

    As far as work…well…I’m trying to “guess” at the time zones. Plus I just cheated and took a peek at your gmail “dot!” Still, I’m not sure if you’re there. Anyway, can you call in sick and have anyone replace you?

    Take care,
    PA

    Like

  3. Well you see, here’s the fun thing about S. Korea. Apparently the pharmacies here only stock Zomig. Damn it. Even my Zoloft has to be special ordered. If you can’t take Prozac, you’re just about shit out of luck.

    Thankfully when Monday morning rolled around, I was only exhausted, not migraine-y.

    And don’t get me started on the school’s f-ed up sick leave policy.

    Like

  4. Hi katm. Oh, no. What a nightmare! That’s nuts! Pardon the pun… That is also one thing that has always made me a bit freaked out re: relocating to different countries or anything like that (well, there’d be more things freaking me out and there’d have to be a damn good reason for me to relocate!)

    However, you know with my brain and all the meds I’m on; it’s a very delicate balance. If just one substitution had to be made or if something wasn’t available at all…I might be really fucked!

    Well, I’m glad that you were feeling at least a little bit better on Monday. That’s something! And…erm…no…I won’t ask you about the sick leave policy. Something tells me it may be worse that the drug/pharmacy issue?

    Like




Leave a Reply

