NOTE: All links to this series may be found at the end of these posts.

Friday, June 12, 2009

Unlike my last hospital stay where I met my friend P., this isn’t exactly “Social Central.” However, I have met a very sweet and special man, R.  Although, as Dr. PA tends to do during her hospital stays…well? She turns into Dr. PA!

Yes, always the dream of becoming a Neurologist or a Psychiatrist…the latter can offer therapy? Indeed. On the Psych Ward, PA can tend to “therapize” the other patients. During one stay when none of the medical staff were in any way helpful and Dr. PA was busy running around doing all of their work, finally she just discharged herself to get some rest at home!

This man I met is not really very demanding at all. He is just lonely and we have made a “connection.” He is a real mess. He was hit by a bus, now in a wheelchair and has suffered unbelievable injuries (both to body and brain.) He has had multiple surgeries, still requires ongoing treatments and is deaf and almost blind. Good lord.

He loves to sing but is sometimes unsure of himself as he can’t hear his own voice and how he speaks. I told him his speech was great and it is!

He told me last night he wanted to sing me a song but was too embarrassed. We communicate by pen and paper with me writing in very large printing. I wrote that it was okay. He didn’t have to if he didn’t want to. He did though.

I don’t know what it was.

EDIT: I later asked him and he said he made it up ad lib just for me.

I was smiling and blushing and that made us both laugh. He says I make him happy in his heart.

I wrote today on his notepad that it was nice to “talk” to him this way as I can go non-verbal at times. So, in doing this, it allowed me to just be nice and quiet. He looked at me through his dark glasses and simply said: “Well, being deaf has its advantages too.”

We both just started laughing at each other…again.

Hospitalization #7 – I – Getting Well

Hospitalization #7 – Part II – Uh Oh…PAs In Trouble…

  1. roseshouse

    That is so neat that you can connect with others that way. I’m sure it is very special to him too.

    Like

  2. Hi roseshouse, good to see you and thanks for stopping by. Thank you as well for the compliment.

    Yes, it was very special for him and for me also (but…brace yourself for the future…)

    I used to work at an HIV/AIDS Hospice so I do have experience in dealing with folks who are in various states of physical and/or mental conditions. However, at the Hospice, we had strict rules about how we could and could not interact with the clients.

    When I was in hospital, I could do whatever I wanted! R. joked that I was a “good driver” when I was wheeling him around. I told him about my work at the Hospice so lots of practice from there. Plus, I “drove myself around” while waiting in the ER all night and morning before being admitted!

    Take care,
    PA

    Like

  3. dw

    “I wrote today on his notepad that it was nice to “talk” to him this way as I can go non-verbal at times. So, in doing this, it allowed me to just be nice and quiet. He looked at me through his dark glasses and simply said: “Well, being deaf has its advantages too.”

    We both just started laughing at each other…again.”

    this is one of the most humane, moving, honest gestures i’ve heard/seen shared in the longest of times. and i’m especially glad you were the one to encounter it. it’s incredibly unique. special. rare. human.

    despite your painful circumstances, you remembered that gem of moments amidst all the other shit.

    see how ya do that??

    that’s something, girl. you’re gonna be okay.

    p.s. i owe you an email. i’ll get there; promise. i’m trying to kill a spider. it’s him or me. and he runs faster. and he’s hairier.
    i can’t rest in this place knowing he’s lurking around some corner.
    fuck i hate spiders!

    had to comment on this though. cuz what you took from that is really something.

    xx

    Like

  4. Hi dw. Thank you so much. Your comment is incredibly touching…in fact, I can’t even find more or better words to describe it.

    Thank you as well for all of the reassurance. You make a good point of “finding” or “remembering” these types of moments in the midst of shit. Yes, “shit.” Uber-shit.

    Not to worry about the email. I see it.

    Ewww! I can not deal with spiders either! Or just about any other creepy-crawly thing! PA scared!

    Thanks for commenting, though.
    xo

    ‘Geez. I said “thanks” (or some variation thereof) and “shit” a lot here. Not writing so well today, methinks.

    Like

  1. 1 Hospitalization #7 – Part I – Getting Well « Patient Anonymous: Just Another Head Case

    […] Hospitalization #7 – Part III – One Friend Met? […]

    Like

  2. 2 Hospitalization #7 – Part IV – Cranky, Cranky PA! « Patient Anonymous: Just Another Head Case

    […] Hospitalization #7 – Part III – One Friend Met? […]

    Like

  3. 3 Hospitalization #7 – Part V – The Post That Was Never Written « Patient Anonymous: Just Another Head Case

    […] Hospitalization #7 – Part III – One Friend Met? […]

    Like

  4. 4 Hospitalization #7 – Part VI – Non-Verbal Question and Massively Triggered PA « Patient Anonymous: Just Another Head Case

    […] Hospitalization #7 – Part III – One Friend Met? […]

    Like




Leave a Reply

