Dr. Fucking PA, indeed! I think it’s time I switched careers and became a Funeral Director! At least then I could handle things all in one go! Quite simple! Just toss my sorry, sad sack, ass right into the incinerator and that would be it!

I don’t know if I want to rip out my hair, cry or both! Probably the latter, even more, and then incinerate myself!

Today was my first day of school, but last “night” might have been it, in reality.  Not knowing what the hell I was walking into, I ran through the chapter in the textbook they would be covering.  Oh.My.God.  Where do I begin? *crosses eyes*

How does being at it for at least five hours minimum, sound? Maybe six hours? I finally started to get ready for bed around midnight.

I am late to the class.  It has already been “clipping along,” however, I didn’t realize just how much.  They have their final exam IN A MONTH!!! I want all of you to imagine what my face looks like right now.  I took a Valium/Diazepam on the way home today after we were done.  I didn’t even know how I felt at the time.  Nonetheless, I thought it a good “pre-emptive strike,” as I sure didn’t have a clue how I’d feel in the next five minutes!

The course is comprised of mostly terminology, and not so much Anatomy and Physiology.  This came as quite a surprise.  In fact, it’s much more than mostly terminology.  And some of these terms?! I mean, now it’s time for me to eat an entire bakery of Humble Pies! Dr. PA is pretty good but…

Not to mention, this is lots of fun for her loss of ability to spell and retain verbal information, due to her loooovvvveeeellllyyy Anticonvulsants.  It’s not that I don’t love you, my pretties; you keep my bean in fairly stable shape.  In a lot of ways.  For all the goddamn things that are wrong with me!!! Still, you’ve made me stoopid and loopy in my bean (despite all the goddamn things that are wrong with me!!!)

This is also a real gas for my Dysgraphia!!! Oh, Bloody Hell to the nth degree! Attending school is bad enough, but when you’re dealing with some words that are 15 characters in length? *bangs head on desk* Even if I do know the term, I can still screw it all “around the world” in 80 days minutes seconds no, days…because it TAKES me that long to fix it!!!

I took the Instructor aside during a break to ‘fess up about the Dysgraphia and the Asperger’s.  She said it was fine, everything would be taken slow.  Pfft.  Cold comfort, if you ask me.  I’m not complaining, though.  Both she, and all of the other students, are great and very helpful.

At least I got my assignment done, and only one wrong mark.  However, more lovely testing on the above chapter, tomorrow.  That means I need to do some more review tonight.  I was so overwhelmed by simply doing the work, plus figuring out how the class was run, trying to understand the course’s overall structure…

The Instructor is going to prepare me a little “package” for the previous eight chapters.  I do want all of the information–I need it! Between learning all of the material as we continue to move on, I also have to get that previous stuff sorted in a cohesive manner.  I need to bring all of the elements together.  None of it will make sense if I don’t.  I know how to do it; or how I want to do it.  We all learn differently, and I know “my style.”  I know what is effective for me.  It’s just going to take me so long!

Well, as a true “medical student,” I guess I’ll be working non-stop, all the hours I can, and then try to fit in what’s left for sleep and food! *rolls eyes* Then I’ll move on to my next course, or “rotation.”

Just to leave you with my favourite term from Chapter Nine, here you are.  Also, I’m not giving you a definition.  Think how well this one went over with my insane Dysgraphia!

coccidioidomycosis

Wait, let’s translate that into “PA Speak.”

  • Supercalifragalisticexpialadocious!
  • Corporate Idiots Do My Taxes
  • Occidental Diode On My Coat
  • Coincidences Are My Costs
  • Moldy Cods Are Gross
  1. Lol, yeah, spinny…

    The head on the spaz goes round and round, round and round, round and round…

    My case is technical/math stuff instead of medical stuff.

    You know what would be awesome? A quiz where you have to name all (even the obscure and soviet ones) the benzos, and if you get it right they give you a random one! XD

    Like

  2. Hi Asdquefty. *laughing* Yes! “…the head on the SPAZ O.o goes round and round…” And true, we all have our areas?

    Funny you should mention my “narrowed field of interest.” When my head was somewhat “less spinny,” I was thinking of the Neurology Chapter and how I’d probably ace that one? *winks*

    Like

  3. keep at it, PA! My parents were both in the medical field and had very fulfilling careers.

    Like

  4. Good on you for taking on such studies! Smart Cookie You!! : – )) I probably would have downed the whole bottle of Diazepam, before even arriving @ Class!! (Never mind just the one on the way home)!! Stick at it hun! Hard work but definitely worth it! you`ll be great!

    Like

  5. RealJIMMY

    Good on ya hun! I’m sure you can do it, although it will surely be a lot of hard work!
    It might be worth asking the lecturers if you can record the audio of the lecture so you can go over it later. Should help? I intend to do that when I go back to school, because I struggle with understanding and recall during the lectures.
    *good luck hugs*

    Like

  6. Hi Matthew Isaacson. Thanks for coming by and welcome. Thank you so much for your encouragement. Exactly the “Rx.” I need right now! *grins*

    Hi Chloe. Welcome to you, too! Thank you as well for the “Smart Cookie,” compliment. Believe me, I don’t feel so smart! Especially right now! And juuusssttt wait for my next Post! Boy, after the email I came home to read tonight?

    *blinks*

    Actually, after said email, I should probably not type things like: “juuusssttt”. I need to appear intelligent!!! *laughing*

    Anyway, where were we? My ADD is getting in the way. Right, Valium before class! Are you kidding me? I needed to stay as alert as possible!

    However, this is amusing. I must have been a bit tightly wound this morning. As soon as I exited public transit, my hands started doing the fastest, Aspie, stimmy flap, they have EVER done. EVER. Just like that! *snaps stimmy fingers* I couldn’t believe it!

    Thanks again, hon.
    Signed,
    “Dumb Cookie” *smirks*

    Hi RealJIMMY. Thanks to you too, love. Thanks…as well… (a lot of thanking, but it’s true!) about the recording, but not good for me!

    First, we have my ADD. I can’t listen to things for extended periods of time, or I just float off. I’m ADD Inattentive Type, so really bad, you dig? It’s not as difficult during a class or lecture, as there are other forms of stimuli around–they can “bring me back down to earth.”

    Second, with the Asperger’s I have problems with Auditory Processing Disorder. So, possible issues with anything that gets garbled when recorded–or that is just plain recorded, period. I have that already with words, music etc…

    Third, time. It would take me double the time to listen to the lecture in the first place, and then do it again when I need to be doing other work.

    Not to shoot your idea down or anything, honey! No seriously. Those are actual reasons, and I am trying to provide some education here (hear–haha), for people.

    However, in terms of “education,” you have also made a contribution. I mentioned in this post that we all learn differently. I am awful at reading and retention. I have to make reams and reams of handwritten notes. Some people don’t have to write down a single word! Or, alright, very few of them.

    It seems for you, that auditory recall is an issue, although, with recall and reinforcing it that way, it can then be turned around and be a good way for you to learn? *hugs back*

    Like

  1. 1 Grand Rounds Vol 6, No. 19 | A Groundhog's Perspective on Med Blogs | More iPad

    […] Anonymous for being subtle and reserved.  That’s pretty obvious when you read her post So, Is This What Medical School feels Like? Brace yourself for some strong words and stronger emotion.  I hope she doesn’t ever run into […]

    Like

  2. 2 Grand Rounds Vol 6, No. 19 | A Groundhog’s Perspective on Med Blogs | More iPad

    […] Anonymous for being subtle and reserved.  That’s pretty obvious when you read her post So, Is This What Medical School feels Like? Brace yourself for some strong words and stronger emotion.  I hope she doesn’t ever run into […]

    Like




Leave a Reply

