So! Who Knows What’s Wrong With Me?


I have just returned from the hospital.  I should toss myself into bed right now, but I can’t.  I have to wait a while after taking the antibiotics (that aren’t working!) until I can take my regular meds.  And yes, I am finishing the course of the stupid Biaxin/Clarithromycin, as I don’t want to run the risk resistance through, “Antibiotic Arseyness.”  Please.  Do I look that stupid? Wait.  Forget you heard me ask you that.

Also, I have a ba-jillion things to do before school resumes tomorrow.  ARRRRGGGGHHHH!!! Frustrated much, wee PA?

So, some bloods, a chest X-ray and an EKG (yes, an EKG!) later…  The verdict? I have a virus.

Hang on a sec’.  I had bronchitis! I had yellow sputum!!!

Oh, for fuck’s sake! What the bloody hell? Fine.  Fair enough.  That would explain why the antibiotics aren’t doing anything for me but… *shakes sick head*

Yellow sputum.  Explain that.  Maybe we’ve got some “infectious see saw” running through my body.  First, norovirus.  Then, bacterial bronchitis.  Now, some viral pneumonitis? Pneumonitis is a general term for lung inflammation (i.e. that is why I have chosen to use it!)

I did push (no pun intended), the IV antibiotic route, I really did.  However, should it have even been done, seriously labour intensive and complicated.  First, we would have had to start with a new one, then if it didn’t work (and it would have taken several hours), more attempts with more drugs…possibly days in hospital.  Okay…so, it would seem I’m SOL for antibiotics!

Well, what’s a poor, sick, wee PA to do? I’ve got a script for a Ventolin/Salbutamol inhaler.  I’ve used them in the past for allergies and environmental asthma.  However, with this script, it’s for more regular usage.  Four times a day, every four hours, prn.  However, if I need to use it more, I’m to go back to the ER.  He also said to go see my GP, but she’s still on Mat. Leave, and although her locum is lovely, she’s…well, not my GP.

Plus…

No one seems to know what’s wrong with me, anyway!!!

And let’s not forget about me doing my Clinic Rotation with this new course! I really don’t want to be sick when working in an environment populated with sick people? Or even “non-sick people?” Christ Almighty! How many times have I masked up over the last three weeks now? *slaps sick forehead*

I’m tired…  Whatever the hell this thing is? Go.A.Way.

  1. EnigmaAnonymous

    Aw :'( *hugs* I hope you get better very soon! PA is awesome! *big huggles*

    Like

  2. Hi EnigmaAnonymous. Thanks hon. You’re awesome, too. Hugs back.

    Like

  3. shiv

    Wait, they LET you work clinic while you’re ill? That so wouldn’t happen over here!

    Sorry to hear you’re still ill babe, it sounds like you’re having as much fun as I had- with one thing riding on the coat tails of another!
    *hugs tight* I hope your immune system recovers soon!

    Like

  4. Hi shiv. Yes, of course they’re going to let me work work in clinic. It’s not like I have Ebola or anything. *laughing* And really, that would probably incapacitate me too much to work! *rolls eyes*

    Seriously, though. I’m just going to be all suited up in whatever protective gear required. The same protocol to avoid transmission of any other disease. I’m no stranger to it, actually. I used to work in an HIV/AIDS Hospice, and would get gloved, gowned and masked up most frequently when dealing with anyone who had contracted MRSA.

    Heh. That’s part of my post for today?

    Thanks, though, hon. I know, we’ve been sort of the “illness twins!” Twins in more ways than one? Yes, come on immune system!

    *hugs tight back*

    Like




Leave a Reply

