Hi guys.  I know all I’ve been blogging about is how sick I am/have been.  But I must tell you, this beats everything.

Hands.Down.

So I got a bit sick.  I had a cough.  In my last post I joked about having a 101°F fever.  HAHA! Not so much.

Within a few days, the coughing became so relentless and painful I could no longer sleep.  Eventually, my fever became just as relentless: 104°F.  Nothing would stop it.  I called for an ambulance but the problem was, I’d just about lost all of my voice so they couldn’t understand me! They sent the whole brigade: Fire, Police, Ambulance.

Ultimate chaos.  No one could understand me again (the posturing and pissing match between the police and paramedics was fun to watch though–despite me needing help–oh, well.)  How many people were in my wee Bachelor unit? My memory is fried but 7 or 8 between the two? o_O

I got to the hospital but the paramedics were so frustrated by the time the police left, I know they got things messed up.  Like listening to very simple things I said.  When in emerg., one of paramedics smirked and said, “You’re going to isolation! You’re going to love it there! Your own room.  Nice and quiet.”  I was so sick I didn’t understand what he was saying.

Isolation Indeed! Uh, just how accurate are those medical shows? Well, being placed completely shut behind glass doors is definitely true!

Dependent upon who they were, they dressed up in all the gear.  My doctor didn’t and my initial nurse for initial tests didn’t, but my second nurse and the X-ray techs did.  I put my mask on whenever someone came in and I went for the X-rays.  Protocol.

The “protocol?” I wasn’t told by the hospital to do it.  I learned it.  It was so odd staring at myself on the other side of the glass.  I worked at an HIV/AIDS Hospice, and how many times did I dress up just like my nurse did when we had clients there in isolation?

I figured I was NPO for all the testing but finally a bag was hung to give me some IV re-hydration.  But I wanted WATER!!! Again, too out of it to ask? My nurse then came in shortly with a wee syringe full of what, I asked.

Morphine.  WTF? Holy shit!, Isolation! Heavy duty pain management! I said to her that I guessed it was for the pain of the coughing and to try to relax the muscle spasms.  Dr. PA still on the job! But now Dr. PA even MORE out of it.  Hello, morphine.

It took some more time as I was supposed to go through two bags for re-hydration, but I was NPO no longer.  I received dinner! Okay, let’s try and eat? I was just happy to have wee cups for water I could drag over to the sink! Then I just lied there and tried to literally not cough my brains out.

Literally? Well, after my script.  My drugs are pretty extreme.  My cough syrup actually crosses my blood-brain barrier to hit my medulla, where my “cough centre” is.  Then, it works its way down to my gut and gives me awful diarrhea.  I don’t know for anyone else, but it’s highly sedating too.

My pills? I won’t even mention the name! I don’t want people to go searching about and…well, I don’t know what they’d think or do! However, rather more than “pretty extreme?” It’s a damn good thing Dr. PA still has/had enough of a brain to research them along with the cough syrup.  A very simple contraindication is no NSAIDS.  I was using Advil/ibuprophen for my fever!

But the ultimate, crazy, insane thing is that this drug can be used for other things (of course.)  But how about the fact that it can treat anthrax and plague grab you? That was fun to read.

I’ve called Sweetie GP to see if she can call me back.  I have half a voice now.  This all happened when she was off for two weeks.  She’s gotta know anyway! I have two pills left.  One for today, and tomorrow.  I have a feeling she’s going to say:“Get yer butt back to the hospital RFN!!!”

I’m clearly not better.  The cough has subsided somewhat, but gets worse with the more oxygen I breathe.  That definitely applies when trying to talk? Duh.  I can’t eat at all.  I also forgot to tell them some things because I was so out of it that are VERY important.  Neurological.  Constant falls, no memory, neuropathy.

If my home scale is right, I’ve also lost 10lbs.  I can’t tell as I have body distortion issues that could be attributed to: my Asperger’s, PTSD and Eating Disorder issues.  Maybe all three!

I’ve also called my stoopid guvmunt worker (however she is FAR from stoopid–she’s excellent!) I want to see if I can get some kind of person to come and give me in-care help.  I live alone.  I can’t DO anything.  Just hobble to the bathroom and back.  Can’t read.  No TV.  It’s like this thing has given me permanent ADD now! However, that may end up being shelved for a bit if I end up going back to hospital and what happens with that.

This is long, I know.  At least I could get it written but it’s taken me hours.  But I wanted to tell the tale.  And it’s not over yet.

Okay, done this? Resty now.

And if you actually read this, TG? Well…you know.

    Leave a Reply

