The Lesson of the Lost Mala


A “mala” is similar to a Catholic Rosary.  It can be used to count (not literally, you’re meditating!) your recitations, or sometimes just run through the beads in order to try and clear your mind and keep you grounded.

I have one but had completely forgotten it as I bought it years ago.  I found it when I was looking for my Pride Rings (also bought years ago.)  As soon as I saw it, WHOOP! Strait back on the wrist! There are larger ones, of course.

I have to be very, very careful with my mala now! I’ve lost weight from being sick and it very easily can slide right off me.  In fact, I need a new Medic-Alert bracelet and have to change its size as well.

Alright.  So, not long ago, I was taking off one of my hoodies and CRAP! Although, I heard it fall.  Somewhere.

A few days ago, I turned my entire apartment upside down, inside out, all over (well more than it already is) in search of MY PRECIOUS MALA!!!  I didn’t find it.  I did the same thing the next day.  Then I did it again the next day.  It was starting to make me go out of my mind.

Then I realized something I had forgotten.  When it first fell off, I knew it was in my apartment.  I was not exactly happy I couldn’t find it, but I was not exactly surprised as this wasn’t the first time it had fallen off.  I said to myself, “Oh, don’t worry.  It’s in here somewhere.  It’ll turn up eventually.”

I see.

Boy, did I ever see when I realized I had temporarily forgotten that.  It was then I learned the lesson.

If you lose something in your life that is so very important, or if you’re desperately seeking something that has such importance as well? DON’T DO WHAT I DID TO MY APARTMENT! *laughing*  No, I am being serious.  Try to be kind, gentle and patient surrounding whatever the issue.  Even better, go back to what I “forgot.”  The notion that I knew it was “somewhere” and eventually it would be found.  Then, I “forgot” in another way.  I forgot about my mala completely.

I’m not saying “forgetting” what you are so bound to (even with intense emotional ties attached) will be easy.  It can be difficult to take any single thought and set it aside at times.  Even being “kind, gentle and patient” to a stranger can make us all want to explode at points.

I’m also not saying that you will get exactly what you are seeking either.  That might make you disappointed.  However, by doing the above, what have you got to lose? As a matter of fact, you have everything to gain! You may end up with other very important things being dropped in your lap that you never would have imagined.

I’m going to leave you with another said “lesson.”  Hell, it’s not like I’m some Guru or anything! You could all think this is a big load of crap! Nonetheless.

I woke up in a foul mood today.  In fact, I was foul last night as well.  I was so angry! We all get angry, but why? I’m not asking you for actual specifics, I want you to ponder something else.  However, the specifics fit in as why would you be angry? Let us not dispense with logic when discussing philosophy! *smirks*

When you are angry at something (and I definitely think when it applies to someone) stop and think for a minute.  And as above, TRY.  In your burning flames of pure ire…well, okay.  Stop for a minute.  Perhaps what you’re mad about has nothing to do with the situation and the individual involved.  Perhaps it’s actually you who is mad at yourself surrounding the entire situation.

  1. 1 The Lesson of the Lost Mala – Part II « Patient Anonymous: Just Another Head Case

    […] you happen to stumble upon this since it is Part II, you may want to read this first.  My mala “broke” slightly when I was taking off my jacket last night.  Its main/front […]

    Like




Leave a Reply

