Well, he didn’t. His body did.

Nobody could reach him but he had a spare key under the mat. Even I knew that, as I’d been over to his house for dinner and socializing. He wanted to make sure that if I got into trouble, felt sick or anything else, I was go straight to his place.

So sweet, but oddly ironic. His apartment was a longer walk away than mine.

No idea what happened, but he was found sitting in the living room, relaxing in his favourite chair with the TV on. rigor mortis.

He was older but not that old. Smoked and some other health issues he told me in secret.

Heart Attack? Aneurysm? Something that was fast since he wasn’t found in an odd, accidental or dangerous position. Those two are my suggestions. He had serious cardiac problems.

NOTE: this Post was started days ago. I found out he was recently scheduled for an angiogram for cardiac care.

He was a part time bartender at our local pub. Such a small clientele means two degrees of separation. Or one.

When I got there, a mini shitshow as there weren’t a lot of people around. The news was new.

He did a lot for the Community too. Coached and organized an entire baseball league. Get kids off the street and give them some proper support and guidance.

I met a lot of the kids too. So happy and full of joy.

NOTE: I have no long since I started this.

This actually happened yesterday. I’ve been up all night and it’s well into morning now. Somehow I managed to have a shower. I don’t understand how that occurred.

I’ve connected with his sister to offer any help necessary. She said she’ll be in touch. They don’t live here plus I have been through this process when my Mom passed away.

I’m tired but no sleep now. The sun is beaming like a laser into my eyes.

Not sure what the next few days will bring, but since he worked at our little pub it’ll be days of an Irish Wake. My liver is in for a serious ride.

I’m back to complete this after several days.

My liver might be falling at this point. I’m too jittery and full of ADD, Asperger’s and mourning my Mom all over again. At least I’m getting some sleep.

I gave some resources to his sister and offered to help with anything regarding the throngs of people coming to the Visitation.

I haven’t heard back, but I know it’s a big deal serving food to people constantly, and always coffee and tea available.

The Funeral Staff don’t actually do that as there could be more services to attend, and seriously it isn’t their responsibility. They’re not Servers in some fancy Cafe!

I’ll show up and just see what happens. I know the drill.




    Leave a comment